New York Philharmonic

  • Presenting Series
Sat, 10/01/2022 - 7:30pm
Baker Hall
$75 | $65 | Free for LU Students

The New York Philharmonic, which helped inaugurate Zoellner Arts Center in 1997, and marked its 10th anniversary, returns for a third performance in Baker Hall to commemorate our 25th anniversary. Music Director Jaap van Zweden conducts the orchestra in a concert that blends the impressionistic delicacy of Debussy’s Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun with the Romantic virtuosity of Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1, with Bomsori Kim as soloist. The rediscovered Symphony No. 4 by Florence Price completes the program. Price was a pioneering composer in the 1930s. She was the first woman of African American descent to receive national recognition as a symphonic composer and have her music performed by a major American orchestra during that period. Click HERE for artist's website. LU Students attend for FREE, click for more info.

Cornerstone Event: Performance in honor of the Ulrich Family Legacy

View our Covid-19 protocols:  **PLEASE NOTE:  Those sitting in rows A and B in the Orchestra section must wear a mask, as required by the New York Philharmonic**